In my experience blogging, one thing that always confused me were the various models used in advertising. As I’ve grown as a blogger and learned about CPC, PPC, CPA, CPM and all the other acronyms that can be confusing, it’s helped me understand and increase my reve
nue.
One thing I’ve realized is there are countless advertisers to use, but not all of them may be for your particular site. I’ve enjoyed experimenting with Google AdSense, Chitika, Commission Junction, PepperJam Networks and others. Currently, I’m using a combination Chikita and AdSense. Below is my attempt to list, categorize and specify requirements for each of the advertisers.
CPC (Cost Per Click)
Per marketingterms.com, the terms pay-per-click (PPC) and cost-per-click (CPC) are sometimes used interchangeably, sometimes as distinct terms. When used as distinct terms, PPC indicates payment based on click-throughs, while CPC indicates measurement of cost on a per-click basis for contracts not based on click-throughs. For example, consider a campaign where payment is based on impressions, not clicks. Impressions are sold for $10 CPM with a click-through rate (CTR) of 2%.
1000 impressions x 2% CTR = 20 click-throughs
$10 CPM / 20 click-throughs = $.50 per click
- Adbrite
- AdSense
- BidVertiser
- Chitika
- Click-Share
- Clicksor – 5,000 page views per day or 100,000 page views per month
- Fadoo
- Kontera
- LinkBucks for Bloggers
- LinkShare
- SearchFeed
- Yahoo! Publisher Network
CPM (Price Per Thousand Impressions)
“The CPM model refers to advertising bought on the basis of impression. This is in contrast to the various types of pay-for-performance advertising, whereby payment is only triggered by a mutually agreed upon activity (i.e. click-through, registration, sale). The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate by the number of CPM units. For example, one million impressions at $10 CPM equals a $10,000 total price.”
1,000,000 / 1,000 = 1,000 units
1,000 units X $10 CPM = $10,000 total price
The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1000. For example, a $10 CPM equals $.01 per impression,” (marketingterms.com)
- Accelerator-Media – minimum of 5,000 impressions per month
- AdAgency1 – 15,000 impressions per month
- Adtegrity – minimum of 100,000 page views per month, atleast 50% traffic origin from US
- Banner Connect – minimum of 100,000 impressions per month
- Burst Media – minimum of 25,000 monthly page views or 5,000 monthly unique views for Burst Network option or 100,000 monthly page views or 10,000 monthly unique views to be eligible for the Burst Direct option
- Casale Media – minimum of 10,000 unique users per day
- RealTechNetwork - minimum of 25,000 impressions per month (12,500 unique)
- Tribal Fusion – requires minimum of 5,000 unique users per day
CPA/CPL (Cost Per Action/Cost Per Lead)
Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying actions such as sales or registrations, (marketingterms.com).
- AzoogleAds
- ClickXChange
- Commission Junction
- FluxAdvertising
- MAXBounty
- NeverBlue
- Oxado
- PepperJam Network
- ShareASale
- Value Click
- Vibrant Media – in text ads, require min of 500,000 page views per month




